Benefits of Microchipping Your Horse

I will just list them.

  • When properly registered, a microchip is the unique and unalterable link to the owner of the animal. That should be self-explanatory.
  • Health records are easier to track for vets-this is critical for pre-purchase or breeding exams.
  • Health certificates can be linked to the chips for shipping, showing, racing, and/or sales.
  • Registrations of foals at or close to birth, especially coupled with DNA testing, virtually  eliminates doubt of identity of parentage even when born to surrogate mares.
  • Ownership of horses can be easily traced because a ‘passport’ unique to each horse would follow it from birth to the grave.

The downside? So far-quite honestly, I haven’t found one.

Now I will say-for a couple of my horses, it did make their necks sore for a couple of days. BUT-l will also say this-they were also horses that did not put their heads down that much. The ones that did, didn’t have any problems. I think it was the repetitive stretching down to graze and eat that took the soreness out. Just for whatever it’s worth to you.

Questions? Ask me. Or go to Stolen Horse International and look under the tab for Services. There’s a link for Equine Identification.

Follow my blog!!

